Sometimes you need a little inspiration

Halfway through rehab, and I’m feeling a bit glum. I’ve put on a happy face for four months, but even that is starting to crack as the reality of a winter without skiing, snowshoeing, ice climbing, and winter scrambling sets in. Then I watched this video, which was a viral sensation last year, about a paratrooper who regained the ability to walk with a lot of hard work and belief in his success.

 
As I watched the video I thought about all the obstacles he had to overcome, which were mountainous compared to a measly little ACL surgery. It offers a pretty powerful lesson for anyone who is struggling with an injury or has doubts about their abilities.

Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it. Stay strong. Be unstoppable.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Sometimes you need a little inspiration”

  1. Anne Lene says :

    Thank you, just what I needed, a little inspiration šŸ™‚ after a accident a few years ago I’ve struggled with 24/7 headaches the last 3,5 years. I have finally gotten to the stage that I can start exercising hopefully to get me better. Even though they give me wicked headaches right now, I refuse to throw in the towel, and this was exactly the inspiration I needed right now. A little exercise and a lot of willpower will go a long way šŸ˜‰ Thank you again. I wish you luck with your recovery. Stay strong šŸ™‚

    • Carry Porter says :

      Anne, I’m so sorry you have had to endure headaches for so long. We both should remember that what seems like the status quo doesn’t have to be. I’m rooting for you!

      • Anne Lene says :

        Thank you, I’m appreciating that šŸ™‚ thankfully it hasn’t been status quo, I’m way and I mean WAY better now than I was when this started 3,5 years ago…

        I just had a bit of a mental “glom” (to use your expression) moment after my “oh my gosh I barely did anything workout with my PT today” wich unfortunately still resulted in me having to dig deep into the medicine cabinet. And your video was just what the doctor ordered for me to bounce back šŸ˜‰

        I’m sure you know what a rollercoaster it can be šŸ˜‰ but hey, as long as we don’t give up…. šŸ˜‰ I’m expecting to see you back in business in “no time” šŸ˜‰ and I’ll be right behind you…

Leave a Reply

