Juicing

It probably sounds crazy, but I think a large part of how fast I’ve healed has to do with flooding my body with nutrients from fresh, homemade juices. Before surgery, I consumed a green juice for breakfast every day to supercharge my body. The week after surgery, I drank a glass of green juice in the morning for breakfast, had a normal lunch, then had a red juice for dinner. Because of my reduced activity levels, I wasn’t hungry for much food, but my body needed the nutrients for adequate healing. 

Juicing is awesome for a couple reasons. First, when you consume fresh vegetable juice, it gives your body an instant infusion of vitamins, minerals, and phytonutrients. Because all of the fiber is removed, your digestive system doesn’t have to work hard and your body can focus on rest and repair.

If you’re interested in giving this a try, I highly recommend getting an Omega 8003, or the equivalent. A single auger juicer like this one is best capable of juicing greens like kale, where you get the most nutrition bang for the buck.  I found mine for next to nothing on Craigslist. If you can’t be that patient, there are lots of places to buy them at full price.

Here are the basic recipes I relied on. Give them a try and modify to your liking.

Green Juice

4 large handfuls of kale
1 cucumber
4 stalks celery
1 apple
1″ knob of ginger
1/2 lemon, peeled

Red Juice

2 beets
4-6 kale leaves
2 oranges, peeled
1 lemon, peeled
1 carrot

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Juicing”

  1. Allison Woods says :

    I’m coming down with a cold, and have frozen fruit, fresh spinach and beets, and yogurt and a stick blender. I guess I should fire this up. Since I’m using a stick blender instead of a juicer, should I roast beets first? I’m betting so.

    • Carry Porter says :

      Cooked or raw, you’ll get lots of good nutrition from the beets. Try this combo: 1 cup water or coconut water + 1/2 medium avocado, pitted + 2 celery stalks, roughly chopped + 1 cup strawberries + 1 small/medium beet, ends trimmed and roughly chopped (steamed if need be) + 1 lemon, juiced (about 3 tablespoons or so). Add a date or two if you’d like it sweeter. I look forward to hearing how your immersion blender works for smoothies.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Your Post-Surgery Recovery: Tips from Doctors and Patients - April 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

